My Secret Life as a Book Blogger (TAG)

The Secret Life of a Book Blogger(TAG)

I wasn’t exactly tagged for this, uh, “tag”. I found it on this blog, and its author invited all readers to join in, and here we are! So, thanks Áine!


How long have you been a blogger?

I’ve had several blogs in the past, even one dedicated to crochet! But if you only count this blog, then I’ve been blogging only a few months.

At what point do you think you’ll stop blogging?

Wow. This is a surprisingly tough question. I hope this blog will continue to exist for quite some time, but I also hope to launch a lot of awesome things from this platform, but I also hope to start a dedicated author blog after a while.

What is the worst thing about blogging?

The pressure of creating content each week. Don’t like it. Sometimes, life throws curve balls. You’ve got to catch them. But it takes you away from the mound for a while. Well, enough with the cheesy metaphors that no one can understand — not even me. In normal words, sometimes I have to take a break for reasons out of my control, and I get a very guilty feeling when I skip even a week of posting an article/review/what-have-you. So, there’s that.

How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

When I write book reviews, I’m often provided with all the pictures I would need: author pictures, and pictures of the book itself. So, thankfully, those take me no time at all.

When I write ink and fountain pen reviews, those require more time because I take tons of pictures of whatever I’m reviewing. All that takes around thirty minutes.

With regular blog posts, maybe around 10 minutes.

Who is your book crush?

As in, crush from a book? All right, Chris Redston from K.M Weiland’s Dreamlander. There, I said it!

Who author would you like to have on your blog?

K.M Weiland. Enough said.

What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

Usually, a black and white striped skirt with a pink athletic shirt. It doesn’t match, but when put together, its the most comfortable outfit I own.

How long does it take you to prepare?

It depends. A review, of any kind, takes me about an hour to write and edit the outline, and write the review. Of course, that number doesn’t count the hours I spent reading or testing whatever it is I’m reviewing.

Quick little posts, like the Sunday Snapshots, take me about thirty minutes to gather webpages, former blog posts, and then write the whole thing.

With a post about writing, or any other informative post, can take me a couple of hours, or a whole weekend if the post is going to end up as a series.

How do you feel about the book blogging community?

You guys are awesomeness personified. Ya’ll have no idea about how much I appreciate you. You’re the nicest people to grace the depths of the web, honestly.

What do you think one should do to get a successful blog?

#1: Write quality content.

I’m starting to learn that it doesn’t matter how frequently I post. People won’t come back to visit the blog if I don’t teach them something they didn’t know before they came. You can post once a week. Just teach them something.


Now it’s time for the fun part, where I get to nominate some amazing folks who make up my favorite blogging community.

Miranda @ Dreams and Dandelions
Gabrielle @ Write for the King
Raychel @ Raychel Rose
Daisy @ A Bookish Flower
Hannah @ Hannah Heath Blog
Jessica @ Simple Scribbles


And that concludes a very fun, and hopefully insightful, post into my (not-so) secret life as a sometimes book blogger. See ya’ll Wednesday!

AbbySignature

2 thoughts on “My Secret Life as a Book Blogger (TAG)

    • Aw, you’re so welcome, Miranda! Thank you for nominating me for the Liebster Award, and I can’t wait to read your post about your “secret” book blogging life.

      Like

Comments are closed.