Ink Review: Diamine Claret

DiamineClaret_InkReviewEven I was getting a little tired of critiquing Iroshizuku inks, as beautiful as some of them are, so I ordered some more samples from Goulet Pens. My room is overflowing with ink samples.

Which is not a bad condition for my room to be in, either.

However, with a couple of cats to contend with, perhaps it’s better that I get rid of them. So, without further ado, let’s introduce Diamine Claret to the list of ink reviews.

Claret is, of course, made by Diamine. I used this ink in both my Esterbrook J and Lamy Safari. So, this review will take both pens into perspective.

INK CHARACTERISTICS:

Flow: Fair

I’m not really a fan of Claret’s flow rate. It’s a little dry for the Safari. In that particular fountain pen, its behavior is akin to Lamy’s own inks, of which I am not a rabid fan.

Shading: Good

While the beautiful color is lost in the wetter nib of my Esterbrook J, the Claret shines through in the Safari. The color ranges from a nice pink, to a gorgeous purple. It’s quite beautiful, and my favorite trait of this ink. I’ve yet to try this ink in the italic nib, but I’ll get around to it.

Feathering: None-Low

In fine nibs, this ink works quite well on cheap, thin paper.

Lubrication: Fair

It’s all right. It’s not the best ink for the Safari, but it’s not the worst either.

Saturation: Medium

Again, it’s all right. It’s not the best ink in this area, but it’s not the worst.

Show-through: Low

There’s minimum show-through on cheap notebook paper. You can barely see the ink on the other side, so it’s not something to worry about. It certainly doesn’t affect the writing experience.

Bleed-through: None-Low

On really thin, cheap paper, there’s a little bleed-through. But, only when using broad nibs. When using fine nibs, such as on my Safari, there’s no evidence of bleed-through.

CONCLUSION:

This is a nice, pleasant ink. It’s not amazing, but it’s pleasant. If you want a pink ink (hehe), definitely look into this one from Diamine. If you have a broad nibbed fountain pen, you’ve got yourself some beautiful shading as well.

Although it’s not the best ink to compliment my Safari (Iroshizuku Tsutsuji won that honor) most Diamine inks work well in my Esterbrooks. In the Esterbrook J, this ink is wonderful. It flows well, it has some shading (not as much as in a broad nib, or my Safari), and it lubricates the nib nicely. However, those things are a trade-off for some bleed-through and show-through.

So, there you have it. A break from Iroshizuku, and an entrance for Diamine.


Tell me, have you bought Diamine Claret? What do you think of it?

AbbySignature

One thought on “Ink Review: Diamine Claret

Comments are closed.