5 Organization Apps for Student Writers

Wondering about how to better organize your writing AND your work? Don't worry. I scoured the Internet so you don't have to. Check out this post on Writing Abby for 5 organization apps we writers can use to better organize our lives. 5 Organization Apps for Student Writers // Writing Abby It’s hard to have energy for writing when you’re a teenager.

With everything that’s going on in our lives, it can be difficult to find time for what you love. And you love writing, don’t you?

Good, ‘cause this is the hard part.

In order to be an efficient writer, as well as a top-notch student, managing your time is important. But, let’s face it, there is a lot of software out there. No one has the time to sweep through the dregs to find that nugget of gold. So, I compiled some of the programs that caught my attention, and wrote them into this blog post.

Let’s look at what we can do to help our work along, shall we?


Wunderlist

(iOS/Windows/Android/Amazon)
Cost: Free (offers premium plan)

Wunderlist is a simple, easy-to-use, easy-to-learn “To-do” app. No sharp learning curve here. Personally, I use this app — even I can use it without any help. (If I can do it, anybody can!)

Wunderlist can be downloaded on a variety of devices, including Android and Kindle, or from your browser. As of the writing of this post, the developers have added a “folders” feature. It further adds to the functionality and organizational capabilities of this app, I think.

Wunderlist has “checklists” as well. For example, if you have an essay to write, you’d use the checklist to break up that monumental tasks into small chunks. That’s the feature I like the most.


Trello

(ios/Windows/Android/Amazon)
Cost: Free (offers premium plans)

Trello is a card-based, visual, “To-do” app. Although I haven’t fully tested this program, it looks pretty neat, and I found it easy to navigate and use.

In this app, you create “lists” and then assign “cards” to those lists. The cards resemble “to-dos”, and are versatile. You can add labels to them, due dates, comments, checklists, and upload files.

In order to work/collaborate with others, you need to invite them to your “board”, where you keep your lists and cards. You can create several boards, and invite tons of people.

I’ve read that you can also assign people to different cards, as if assigning them tasks. (Because, technically, you are!)

I recommend Trello if you have to work with a group, or even another individual. I feel like that’s what it’s made for.


Scrivener

(Mac/Windows)
Cost: $40 (offers 30 day free trial)

There is no way that I could write a post about organization apps and not mention the supreme writing tool, Scrivener.

I personally use “Scrivener” on a daily basis. I use it as the editorial calender for this blog, an organizer for my longer-works of writing, my short-works, and my academic writing. So, I use it a lot. And I love it a lot.

There are so many features in this software that it would take a whole series of posts to even list them all. You just need to try it out for yourself. And, good thing is — it’s free for thirty days. Try it!


Evernote

(iOS/Mac/Windows/Android)
Cost: Free (offers premium plans)

Evernote is, well, a note-taking app. It does lots more, if you’re creative, but I feel like note-taking utilizes this app most.

Personally, I use this app for research collecting and note transfers to my mobile devices. That’s a great thing about this app — it works on pretty much every operating system out there. Also, the Web Clipper browser extension makes it easy to “clip” articles and screen-shots to various “notebooks”.

That’s what I use it for, and that’s what I recommend it for.


myHomework

(iOS/Windows/Android/Amazon)
Cost: Free (offers premium plan)

myHomework is a paperless student planner of sorts. If you have a boatload of homework, a paper syllabus you keep losing, or you just need some help remembering where your classes are, myHomework is an app you should look into.

The myHomework app lets you add your homework, tests, projects, even your lessons to its program. You can set due dates for each assignment and the app will send you notifications about them to keep you on track.

myHomework will also let you enter the time your class takes place. You can choose between regular times, as well as block and period schedules.

It does just what you need it to, and nothing more. myHomework is a no-fuss, uncomplicated program to deal with that mound of homework staring back at you.


Those were my picks of organization programs. I hope that you check them out, and find them useful. Organizing time is something that I struggle with daily. So, I hope these programs are able to help you, so that you’re able to write more. Because, honestly, isn’t that what we all want?


Tell me, have you tried any of these programs? What are your favorite organizational apps?

AbbySignature

4 thoughts on “5 Organization Apps for Student Writers

Comments are closed.