Five Things Friday: Five Fav Movie Musicals

Five Things Friday- Five Fav (Movie) Musicals on Writing Abby.These Five Things Friday posts are so much fun to write. I get to share some of the things I like with you all, and get to hear some of your favorite things as well!

So, here’s another Five Things Friday post.


Two weeks ago, I wrote about my five favorite stage musicals. This Friday, I’d like to write about my five favorite movie musicals. These movies always seem to cheer me up when it’s gloomy outside. Just pop in one of these sweet melodies of mirth and you won’t even notice the rain outside your window. Or the lightning. Or thunder. And maybe hail.

Shall we continue?

–Show Boat–

(starring Katherine Grayson and Howard Keel, directed by George Sidney)

Both Grayson and Keel have such wonderful voices. The dance numbers featuring Marge and Gower Champion are beautiful to watch. The Technicolor used in making the film just increases the beauty of it. It’s hard to be sad when you’re watching a musical in Technicolor.

–Singin’ in the Rain–

(starring Gene Kelly, Debbie Reynolds, and Donald O’Connor; directed by Stanley Donen and Gene Kelly)

This movie is in Technicolor and it’s one of the best movie musicals ever created. You cannot be unhappy while you watch this movie. It’s impossible. The music is fun and bright, and watching Gene Kelly dance is happy-inducing itself.

–The Sound of Music–

(starring Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer, directed by Robert Wise)

Enough said.

–Meet Me in St. Louis–

(starring Judy Garland, Margaret O’Brien, and Mary Astor; directed by Vincente Minnelli)

This movie is a Christmas staple around our house. No matter how many times I watch it, this movie always enchants me.

–Ziegfeld Follies–

(starring a whole bunch of MGM’s top stars, and directed by Vincente Minnelli)

Pretty much all my favorite performers who worked at MGM during the 40s are in this movie. It’s so charming, and I recommend watching it if you need a bit of cheering up.


And that concludes this week’s Five Things Friday post!

Have you watched any of these movies? What are your favorite movie musicals?

AbbySignature

