Five Things Friday: Five Fav Stage Musicals

PIECINGListening to the soundtracks of these musicals is my favorite way to relax as well as get inspiration during writing sessions. So, with that said, I’d like to introduce the first Five Things Friday post. Maybe you’ll find inspiration in them as well!

So, here they are, my five favorite stage musicals.


–The Phantom of the Opera–

Most, if not all, of any stage versions of this musical are spot on. (At least, I think so.) The music is excellent. I listen to the 25th Anniversary’s soundtrack whenever I’m writing. Such inspiration!

Favorite Song: Wishing You Were Somehow Here Again

–Les Miserables–

This musical is a sentimental favorite for me. My father and I share a bond over it. We often argue disagree on which version is the best. (1988 Symphonic Cast!)

Favorite Song: Epilogue (Finale)

–My Fair Lady–

This musical is also among my favorites list is because of the original cast. Julie Andrews has such a beautiful voice, and I’ve watched many of Rex Harrison’s movies.

Favorite Song: On the Street Where You Live

–Carousel–

The Raitt and Clayton’s voices are wonderful, and I enjoy listening to the soundtrack whenever I crochet. I haven’t seen the movie version of it yet, but I’m working on finding it. (Link goes to the video of the 1954 TV special “Salute to Rodgers and Hammerstein”, and includes the song, “You’re a Queer One, Julie Jordan.”)

Favorite Song: If I Loved You

–Oklahoma!–

I first saw the movie when I was a little girl, but stumbled across the Broadway soundtrack on Pandora. Alfred Drake is a Broadway icon, and his voice is wonderful. It me reminds me, almost, of Howard Keel.

Favorite Song: People Will Say We’re In Love


That concludes the first Five Things Friday! I hope you enjoyed it as much as I liked putting it together.

(Stay tuned for next week’s Sunday Snapshot. Start the new week with a flashback!)

Do you watch stage musicals? What is your favorite stage musical?

AbbySignature

